Chelsea squad numbers after transfer window as Eden Hazard’s No 10 is awarded

Frank Lampard’s Chelsea squad is looking very different to how it did 12 months ago after he splashed the cash this summer to try and improve his side. There have been plenty of outgoings too, with multiple first-team stars heading out on loan deadline day.

Chelsea’s squad numbers for the season have all but been confirmed after the transfer window closed on Monday.

Six of the seven major signings have been handed squad numbers, with Malang Sarr yet to receive one after heading to Porto on loan.

The blockbuster change comes in the form of the no. 10 shirt, which has been handed to Christian Pulisic.

The American winger is the first player to don the jersey since Eden Hazard’s switch to Real Madrid.

That means that Hakim Ziyech has picked up that number, while Kai Havertz opted for the no. 29 shirt.

Timo Werner had to bide his time to pick up Pedro’s no. 11 jersey, following his switch to Roma.

And Ben Chilwell has been forced to settle for no. 21, with Marcos Alonso still occupying his favoured no. 3.

Thiago Silva getting no. 6 has left Danny Drinkwater without a squad number for the season, even though he is still at the club.

New goalkeeper Edouard Mendy will don the no. 16 on his goalkeeping top, which he also wore at Nice.

Ross Barkley and Ruben Loftus-Cheek, who will spend the season on loan at Aston Villa and Fulham respectively, have temporarily vacated no.8 and no.12, though they have not been handed out yet.

Young midfielder Billy Gilmour has been handed a huge squad number upgrade, going from no. 47 to Crystal Palace loanee Michy Batshuayi’s no. 23, suggesting he could be a big part of Frank Lampard’s plans this season.

Here is a full list of the latest squad numbers for Chelsea

1. Kepa Arrizabalaga

2. Antonio Rudiger

3. Marcos Alonso

4. Andreas Christensen

5. Jorginho

6. Thiago Silva

7. N’Golo Kante

9. Tammy Abraham

10. Christian Pulisic

11. Timo Werner

13. Willy Caballero

14. Fikayo Tomori

15. Kurt Zouma

16. Edouard Mendy

17. Mateo Kovacic

18. Olivier Giroud

19. Mason Mount

20. Callum Hudson-Odoi

21. Ben Chilwell

22. Hakim Ziyech

23. Billy Gilmour

24. Reece James

28. Cesar Azpilicueta

29. Kai Havertz

31. Nathan Baker

33. Emerson

Leave comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.